Monthly Wrap Up

July Wrap Up!

It’s wrap up time!!

I can’t believe how quick this month has flown by, one second it was July and all of a sudden it’s August and I haven’t done as much reading as I had planned.

This month was not very good for reading as I only managed to read 3 books. I had so much trouble choosing a book and then I struggled to read them. I had major commitment issues with reading this month.

But let’s look at the 3 books I did manage to read this month.

World War Z by Max Brooks- 3/5 Stars

After this book had been sitting on my shelf for years I was looking forward to actually picking it up and reading it, unfortunately about half way through I was having issues engaging and reading it, so I switched over to the audiobook. This made the book far easier to get into and I found myself enjoying the book more than when I was reading it myself.

You can read my full review here.

Doctor Who: 12 Doctors 12 Stories by- 4/5 Stars

This was an enjoyable anthology, I loved sampling all 12 authors writing styles and seeing what they would do with the Doctor they were given.

I always find when reading an anthology there are stories you like more than others and with each doctor having different companions and a slight change in his personality, the authors could really stretch the stories and make them their own.

My full review is still to come.

Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls: 100 Tales of Extraordinary Women by Elena Favilli- 4/5 Stars

This book is just so inspirational!

I started reading this book at night before I went to bed, just a few stories every night, but I got so hooked on the illustrations and stories of these amazing women that I ended up finishing the book in a binge read.

I would recommend everyone has a read of this book, it is just full on inspirational stories and something all kids should learn.

I did not write a review but you can read my comments on Goodreads here.

 

For August I am planning a small TBR as I have a few weeks off and I want to just pick up and read what I want to with no planning. I always think that is the best way to read.

I hope you all have a great August and reach your reading goals for the month.

Happy reading everyone!

Jess

Leave a Reply

