Book Reviews

Norse Mythology By Neil Gaiman

“Because,” said Thor, “when something goes wrong, the first thing I always think is, it is Loki’s fault. It saves a lot of time.”

I have always loved learning about different Mythologies, but growing up I used to read more about the Egyptian, Greek and Roman Gods and mythology.

It was only when I was in my twenties that I have found myself interested learning about other mythology one of them being Norse, but unfortunately I didn’t know where to start. So when I saw Neil Gaiman was releasing a book with retellings of the Norse God’s stories, I knew this was the perfect place to start.

This was the first book by Neil that I have read, and I can now understand why people love his work, his writing is creative and expressive with great detail added to help paint a picture in your mind. The stories, although a retelling of the original Norse ones, use creative descriptions to bring you into the world of the gods.

The stories included start from the very begging with the creation of the realms and finish at the very end with Ragnarok, but the stories in between these main events are full of joy, violence, origins and a collective amount of humour.

While reading I was excited to see how Loki acted, I will admit that I love DC’s version of the trickster god but I wasn’t sure how much DC had changed him. I was very pleased when I read stories including him and realised that even though he is a bit of an arse I still love him and all the mischief he gets up to.

As an introduction to Neil Gaiman’s works, this was a great start for me and I soon found myself getting more of his books to add to my shelf.

Rating- 4 Stars- Really good, I would recommend reading it

This is a book I believe I will be coming back to when I want to escape into the realm of gods and warriors, even just for a short time. I would recommend this book to anyone interested in Mythology or after a good fantasy feeling read.

I think I might actually pick up the book again now, just to read one of my favourite stories Freya’s Unusual Wedding. It always makes me smile and have a giggle.

Happy reading everyone!

Jess

Leave a Reply

