Unboxing

May YA Chronicles Unboxing

What’s this the I See Fire YA Chronicles Unboxing from May?  Why yes it is!

Hey guys, I am so sorry I have been behind on my unboxings, I have been so busy with work and life in general that unfortunately my blog (and writing) has been neglected.

I’m a terrible person!

But finally I have organised myself and started working on my unboxings, so without further ado let’s finally start the long awaited unboxing of the May YA Chronicles Box!

Like I mentioned before the theme for the May box is I See Fire, which if you are an Ed Sheeran fan like myself, you will start singing the song he did for the second Hobbit Movie, The Desolation of Smaug, right away.

I was very excited to get into this month’s box and see what the team included, so just like then I will not wait another second before ripping into this box. So let’s get started.

I opened the box and was greeted by some beautiful black wrapping paper which all the items have been wrapped in.

Just like in every box we have the card telling us what is included in the box as well as a YA Chronicles Bookmark with Box Volume and the theme. This month they have gone with the black base with sparks of orange embers coming in from opposite sides. I really like this design and it works for both the Item card and bookmark.

IMG_0300

The first item I saw in the box was the beautiful Fire Heart candle from Kozy Korner Boutique.

This candle is a beautiful orange colour and smells really nice, with the scent of Honeysuckle, Peony and Sandalwood it’s a very soft and sweet smelling candle and is a great addition to my slowing growing bookish candle collection.

I have already checked out her store and I must say there are a few things on my wish list from there.

The next item is the Catching Fire Blind Bag from Ikon Collectibles.

I will admit I have a small addiction to the blind bags or mystery boxes you can buy in pop culture stores and have a small collection of Five Nights at Freddy’s toys I love to death. So when I saw the Hunger Games blind bags I was very excited to see who I got.

Well I was very pleased when I opened the box and found my old friend Peeta Mellark inside.

I think these were a really fun thing to add to the box as it gets people asking other YA Chronicles box fans who they got in their box. It’s a really good way to get the fans and community together.

The next item I was actually really nervous about, because everything was going well until the fire nation attacked!

tumblr_mbk2rjyhpc1qehejt

Sorry I had to do it!!

The next item in this month’s box is an amazing fire nation bracelet inspired by Avatar and The Legend of Korra. I loved the Avatar series and when I saw this bracelet I had to send a video of it to a friend who is also a fan, with me yelling FIRE NATION in the background. He was really impressed by it… he called me an idiot.

IMG_0309

The next item is a Dragon Sticky Tab Booklet and it is so cute.

I have just started recently tabbing books and I am really enjoying it, but tabs can be expensive so it’s really nice to have some extra ones around. Plus they are in a cute dragon booklet and I love dragons so that is another win!

FIGHTING EVIL BY MOONLIGHT! WINNING LOVE BY DAY LIGHT! NEVER RUNNING FROM A REAL FIGHT! SHE IS THE ONE NAMED SAILOR MOON!

I was one of those lucky kids who grew up watching some of the greatest anime like Pokemon, Dragon Ball Z and of course Sailor Moon.

The next item in this box is a pair of Sailor Mars socks. These socks are super cute, soft and make me want to curl up and binge watch the series all over again.

IMG_0316

The next item is one I am really excited to get and give a try. It is a silhouette folding pattern of our favourite assassin Aelin from the Throne of Glass series. This pattern was created by the talented Dogearforart and I say talented because she is!

Sarah’s store is simply amazing with the designs she has created, I have actually spotted a few designs I will be purchasing and giving a go.

But first thing is first I need to go to a second hand bookstore and find some old hardcover books to use! This will be one of my winter projects for sure!

IMG_0313

Last but defiantly not least is this month’s book.

This month we have been given Flames in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh. The first thing I want to say is I am in love with this cover, it is just so beautiful and the colours just add to the design even more making me want to look at it forever.

Okay now that my gush over how much I love the cover is over let me gush about the synopsis because this book will be moved to the top of my TBR because it just sounds so amazing!

I loved the idea of this book and I am excited to read it to  see what happens.

Synopsis- Goodreadsimg_0322.jpg

The only daughter of a prominent samurai, Mariko has always known she’d been raised for one purpose and one purpose only: to marry. Never mind her cunning, which rivals that of her twin brother, Kenshin, or her skills as an accomplished alchemist. Since Mariko was not born a boy, her fate was sealed the moment she drew her first breath.

So, at just seventeen years old, Mariko is sent to the imperial palace to meet her betrothed, a man she did not choose, for the very first time. But the journey is cut short when Mariko’s convoy is viciously attacked by the Black Clan, a dangerous group of bandits who’ve been hired to kill Mariko before she reaches the palace.

The lone survivor, Mariko narrowly escapes to the woods, where she plots her revenge. Dressed as a peasant boy, she sets out to infiltrate the Black Clan and hunt down those responsible for the target on her back. Once she’s within their ranks, though, Mariko finds for the first time she’s appreciated for her intellect and abilities. She even finds herself falling in love—a love that will force her to question everything she’s ever known about her family, her purpose, and her deepest desires.

There you have it, the May YA Chronicles unboxing, I was looking forward to this month’s box and it did not let me down, if I had to choose my favourite it would be the Book Folding Pattern from Dogearforart. It is such a different item to receive and as a project lover I love having something else to add to my list.

I am looking forward to the June box with the theme Take to the Seas we are getting a total element change and I can’t wait to see what that will include.

If you would like to check The YA Chronicles out for yourself, you can find their website here or to check out some of their amazing photos, as well as sneak peeks to their next box you can see that on their Instagram here.

Checkout the other amazing stores and I will be back in June for my next unboxing.

Happy reading everyone!

Jess

Leave a Reply

