Blog Posts

Skulduggery Pleasant: Resurrection Theories & Questions

MAJOR SPOILER WARNING!!- This post contains spoilers for the whole Skulduggery Pleasant series.


Resurrection is only 2 days away and I am officially talking about nothing else! I mean I have been talking about nothing else for the past 11 days, but with only 2 days left, I’m annoying my family and friends with nothing else!

I’m just so damn excited! Cue the dancing skeletons!!!!!

skeleton-animated-gif-12giphy

In preparation for Resurrection I decided to reread all 9 books in the series. Now I will admit even through this is my favourite series I have a terrible memory, so I forget things a lot. It also doesn’t help that I haven’t read the last book The Dying of the Light since it was released in 2014.

So when I finished rereading TDOTL I realised that there are a lot of questions left unanswered and things left up in the air. So today I’m going to talk about a few of these questions, as well as mention a few things I am looking forward to reading in Resurrection.

So without further ado let’s get into it!

Questions I would loved answered

Who survived the events of The Dying of the Light!?

Derek did a great job of keeping certain characters deaths unknown, I mean there is a moment when Valkyrie sees Donegan Bane (one of the monster hunters) but no Gracious O’Callahan and then it is never mentioned if he is okay.

We see Dexter Vex get a remnant pulled out of him and then he is thrown back, but again Valkyrie isn’t sure if he is dead or alive!

With the amount of destruction that took place in the last book,  there are a lot of maybes  as to who survived so I am looking forward to seeing who is still around and letting my heart finally rest easy regarding certain characters.

What else is in the Caves under Gordon’s house (The Void)?

If there is something that needs to be discovered you can bet it will be in the caves under Gordon’s house and with the discovery of the pool that made the god killer weapons and Gordon the Dragon, I’m expecting for the team to have to go down there again and find something else and I am looking forward to it.

What the hell is Saracen Rue’s Power?!?!

Seriously though… He knows things? Come on Derek! We need to know!!  TELL ME!

What happened to the necklace containing Valkyrie’s Necromancer magic?

When they managed to separate Darquesse from Valkyrie (the first time), Skulduggery threw down a necklace that her necromancer power was drawn into, and then that was it, we heard nothing else about the necklace, we don’t know where it went or anything.

I’m actually wondering if Valkyrie would be able to use the necklace to use necromancy again, I know she went through her Surge and now has white lightening as her magic, but I wonder if it is possible.

What is happening with Dr. Nye and the Church of the Faceless?

Dr. Nye is a slippery sucker! It managed to escape prison (with some help) and then disappeared. It is mentioned in the last part of TDOTL, when the black cleaver attacks China, that there could be a combined effort between Dr. Nye and Eliza Scorn (The Church of the Faceless).

This is something that will defiantly need to be brought to light in Resurrection, heck it might be a major story line in the renewed series.  But all I know is that I want to see China Sorrows and Eliza Scorn toe to toe and China kicking Eliza’s butt!

Will we finally find out what Dusk tasted in Valkyrie’s  blood?

Now, I’m pretty sure that Dusk is still alive… he better be alive or so help me Derek!

In Dark Days Dusk bit Valkyrie tasting her blood and made a comment about something special being in it, but heaven forbid Derek actually tell us what it was, no he keeps that information to himself and mentions it throughout the rest of the series just to mess with us.

So here is hoping that One, Dusk is still alive and Two, we finally find out what he tasted.

I NEED TO KNOW!

Things I’m looking forward to reading

A more mature Fletcher Renn (because he can’t look older)

Admit it, we all love Fletcher, no matter how stupid his hair is, he is our teleporting baby and we want only good things for him!

So with it being 5 years in since the events of TDOTL, I’m looking forward to seeing a more mature Fletcher (who has hopefully gone through his Surge) and I can’t wait for him to see Valkyrie again and see how they act towards each other.

I’m also really hoping that he hasn’t changed his hair in anyway, but if he has that will be okay. As long as he is still his funny, caring self, I will be okay.

Valkyrie seeing her parents and Alice again.

Like I mentioned before it has been 5 years since the events of TDOTL, which means she hasn’t seen her family in 5 years, this means that Alice will be 6 years old. This is going to be very emotional! I don’t know what will happen or how Valkyrie’s family will be towards her, but all I can say is I’m so ready and can’t wait!

Skulduggery and Valkyrie together

I can’t wait to get back to the funny banter that happens between these two! The good-natured insults and sassy comments! These two make the series and I can’t wait for them to be back together.

Meeting Omen Darkly

In Resurrection we get a new lead character, this is Omen Darkly, We don’t know much about him but I am looking forward to seeing him interact with Skulduggery and Valkyrie, as well as seeing how he will fit into the whole new story line.

CHINA!

China is one of my favourite characters in the series and Grand Mage of the Irish sanctuary. I love China and she fits so well as Grand Mage, I can’t wait to see what she has done is the five years that has passed. I’m expecting her to be even more beautiful than before with way more power and sass!

I can’t wait to see her call Skulduggery her darling again… okay I am a huge Chinduggery shipper and I want them together so bad!

More Xena!

I love Xena (because I love dogs) and I’m really hopping that there are more scenes with her in them as well as her with Skulduggerry.


Now I am aware that Resurrection might be the first book in the renewed series, so there is most likely going to be more books after this one, so all these questions apply to all the new books as well.  I know I am not the only one who is looking forward to some of these questions to be answered, but even then there are way more questions that need to answered and I am looking forward to them being answered.

If I am being honest I am looking forward to just reading about my babies again in a brand new story.

Are there any questions I didn’t mention that you are looking forward to being answered? I would love to hear them and fangirl out more!

2 days people! 2 days till we get to deal with Puns and the sass of a Skeleton in a suit!!! Never have I been so excited!!

 

Happy reading everyone!

Jess

Leave a Reply

