Book Reviews

The Assassin and the Princess By Sarah J. Maas

“I don’t have an interest in normal friends. Even if I were just an ordinary girl, I wouldn’t want to be surrounded by ordinary folk. No, I’ll take the rebel princess and the sons of kings and the grumpy captains and the whores and the thieves any day. And I’d take you over a thousand ordinary girls.”

This was a short scene that takes place between Throne of Glass and Crown of Midnight. I actually didn’t know this excised until a fellow book blogger read it and brought it to my attention.

The first thing I said was “is this another Novella? And why haven’t I read it yet?” but it turns out this was just a short scene Sarah had written and was uploaded in several parts on separate blogs for blog tour.

This was a really nice scene to show the relationship of Celaena and Nehemia, there is nothing too plot essential in it, so this isn’t a “you must read this to get the story” kind of thing, it’s just a small scene where Celaena and Nehemia go dress shopping together and talk.

By the end of the scene I was reminded of how close they both are and my heart was filled with such joy at the reminder. They are just so sister like towards each other and would do anything for one another, it shows how deep a true friendship can go.

I haven’t read anything relating to the Throne of Glass series since last year reading Empire of Storms, so this was a really nice way to get back into the world and really made me want to reread the whole series again, which I have no time for at the moment, so I’m going to leave that until next year when the last book comes out.

Rating: 3.5 Stars

As this was just a small scene it’s hard to actually give it a proper rating and to be honest I’m not even sure I should be giving it a rating as it is just a scene, but that has never stopped me before!

If you enjoy the series and are like me, who likes to read everything relating to a series, then I would recommend reading this, if not just to get a good fix of Sarah’s writing.

Happy reading everyone!

Jess

Leave a Reply

