Book Reviews

Mortal Coil By Derek Landy (Mini Review)

Warning!! – This review contains spoilers for Skulduggery Pleasant: Mortal Coil by Derek Landy.

Gripping

After a bit of a break, I’m back with the fifth Skulduggery Pleasant book, Mortal Coil.

There is so much action crammed into the pages of this book that I don’t know where to start talking about it.

You know what? Let’s talk about characters first. In Mortal Coil we are blessed with seeing all the characters we love plus some new ones, like the charming Erskine Ravel and the deadly assassin Tesseract. We also get many, many mentions of the Dead Men, the group Skulduggery and Ghastly fought in during the war and every time they were mentioned I would fangirl out. I love the Dead Men and you will be learning more about them very, very soon if you keep reading.

Tesseract is a Russian assassin hired to kill Davina Marr and I know he is supposed to be a bad guy but while reading I found myself drawn to him as a character and by the end I found myself so sad for him and ended up crying! Derek has an amazing talent of making me love a majority of his villains for reasons I don’t even understand other than I find them so amazing to read.

Another character we get to see is Darquess, she is only in it for a short time but damn is it intense!! Just a taste of what is to come with her in these books.

Like I mentioned before there is a lot of action in this book, that I remember when I first read the book I had no idea what would happen, it just seemed like there was so hope left. But the fight scenes are amazing and always have me excited to read on to see what will happen next.

Book Synopsis

Skulduggery Pleasant and Valkyrie Cain are back — just in time to see their whole world get turned upside down! While they struggle to protect a known killer from an unstoppable assassin, Valkyrie is on a secret mission of her own. This quest, to prevent her dark and murderous destiny, threatens to take her to the brink of death and beyond. And then the body-snatching Remnants get loose, thousands of twisted souls who possess the living like puppets, and they begin their search for a being powerful enough to lead them. Facing such insurmountable odds, Skulduggery, Valkyrie, Ghastly and Tanith can trust no one. Not even each other!

If you would like a full plot summary I would recommend this one. It tells you everything you need to know if you don’t have time to re-read the book.

Favourite Scenes

There are so many great scenes in Mortal Coil that it is actually hard to pick a few out. The whole book is a never ending scene of awesomeness but I will be forcing myself to choose at least  one scene to talk about.

The scene I’m going to talk about is from chapter 26.

This scene is just after Valkyrie gets her name sealed by Dr. Nye and is meeting Skulduggery to exchange Christmas presents.

When she gets to the pier Skulduggery is waiting for her where there is an amusing exchange regarding Christmas presents, after this exchange Valkyrie goes to get into the Bentley when she realises that Skulduggery isn’t following her, which leads to his exchange.

“You’re not moving”

“We are hurtling through space at a rate of 390 kilometres per second Valkyrie. I would hardly call that not moving.”

“Then we are not moving to the car,” she sighed.

“This is true.”

“And why are we not moving to the car Skulduggery?”

“Because,”

“Because what?”

“Because I am waiting for you to tell me what is going on. You’ve been keeping something from me- and that ends now.”

Valkyrie then tells Skulduggery everything about her being Darquess and going to get her name sealed. He asks her who sealed her name, saying that Kenspeckle couldn’t have done it for her. When she won’t tell him who did it Skulduggery goes into detective mode and narrows it down to Dr. Nye.

Valkyrie thinks Skulduggery is going to yell at her but calmly puts his hands on her shoulders and tells her…

“That was a mistake, I’m not going to judge you Valkyrie. I’d never judge you.”

He then tells her she was brave to deal with this all on her own, to which she thanks him. This is why I love this scene it shows how Valkyrie and Skulduggery’s relationship works, yes they both might keep things from each other but eventually when the time is right they share it and neither of them judge the other.

This is just the start of them sharing everything and making them closer as partners.

Another reason I love this scene is for this simple exchange after Skulduggery tells Valkyrie she was brave.

“Amazing, astonishingly stupid, but brave.”

“Yeah.”

“Very foolish, is what I’m getting at.”

“I can see that.”

“Thick, basically. Just thick. Dumb as a bag of hammers, not too bright there, Valkyrie.”

“You can really stop complimenting me now.”

Skulduggery pulled her gently into a hug and patted her back. “You brainless moron.  You simple-minded cretin. You’re a half-wit. A dimwit. An imbecile. You’re as sharp as a marble. Thick as a ditch. Not the sharpest knife, nor the brightest crayon, and not the brightest bulb. You just fell off the turnip truck. The wheel is turning, but the hamster is dead.”

Even though they just had a rather serious discussion Skulduggery will always make sure Valkyire has a laugh and of course will take any opportunity to use all his clever insults.

Favourite Quotes

Anyone who did not give violence its careful and rightful due was someone to whom violence was an old pair of shoes- slip on, slip off, think nothing more about it. – Scapegrace- Page 118

You shouldn’t feel guilty about enjoying something that other people don’t. Well, apart from torture, but that’s probably the only expectation. – Skulduggery to Valkyrie- Page 203

When you’re dealing with magic, you can never trust your enemies to stay beaten, or stay dead.  –Gordon Edgly- Page 397

I don’t want to threaten you in your own home, so of you’d like to step outside, I can threaten you there. – Skulduggery to Burgundy Dalrymple- Page 422

 

Mortal Coil is a hectic book with a lot of amazing fight scenes and as we move onto Death Bringer we and getting closer to where everything truly get crazy!

Even though I am majorly behind in my reread of this series I will be catching up and reading them all and get my reviews done before Skulduggery Pleasant: Resurrection is released in June.

Rating: 5/5 stars- Amazing! I loved it!

Happy reading everyone!

Jess

One thought on “Mortal Coil By Derek Landy (Mini Review)

Leave a Reply

