Book Reviews

The Great Glowing Coils of the Universe by Joseph Fink & Jeffrey Cranor

“Look to the sky. You will not find answers there, but you will certainly see what everyone is screaming about.”

Welcome to Night Vale, a popular podcast filled with amazing characters, a great story and a lot of weirdness is told via our protagonist (if you can call him that), Cecil, as he hosts the small desert towns community radio station.

I have been a fan of the podcast for many years. So when the Welcome to Night Vale: A Book was announced to be coming out in 2015, I knew I had to read it.

It was the same when they announced in 2016 they would be releasing the first two volumes of the Welcome to Night Vale scripts. I knew that I needed them to add to my collection.

The Great Glowing Coils of the Universe consists of the scripts for episode 26 to 49, as well as the script for their live show The Debate. Each episode is introduced by a small introduction from either the creators, co-writers or the voice actors themselves, these are amazing as they give insight into what they thought of the episode or what inspired them when writing the episode.

Each episode mentions the weather (musical performance) so what I found myself doing is having the music ready to go and when I reached that part I would stop reading and listen to the weather. This not only gave me a break but also added to the experience.

One of my favourite features in the script volumes is the amazing artwork by Jessica Hayworth that accompanies every episode. These pictures fit each episode and even thought they are in black and white they fit the book perfectly and are amazing.  Jessica has worked with the team at Welcome to Night Vale for a while, creating posters, t-shirts and even the cover of this book.

Her art fits perfectly with the strange town of Night Vale and I would highly recommend checking out some of Jessica’s work.  (Here have an example of the posters she has made for the WTNV live shows)

One of my favourite episodes from this volume would have to be Episode 28- Summer Reading Program, this episode features some of my favourite quotes like…

“Get into a good book this summer” and “We are going to force you into a good book this summer” and “You are going to get inside this book and we are going to close it on you and there is nothing you can do about it”

And

“Catch the flesh-eating reading bacterium”

But it is always hard to pick your favourite episode over all and I never think I could pick one episode that is my all time favourite.

All in all I loved reading these scripts and as I am up to date with the Podcast, which just reached its 100th episode (congrats guys!), it was great to go back to the beginning and remember all the things that have helped make this show what it is.

If you are a Welcome to Night Vale fan I would defiantly recommend getting the script books for your collections, they are beautiful to just look at or flip through.

What is your favourite Welcome to Night Vale episode? I would love to know.

Rating: 4 Stars- Really good, I would recommend reading it.

Happy reading everyone!

Jess.

Leave a Reply

