Monthly Wrap Up

January Wrap Up!

Welcome to 2017 everyone, I hope everyone has had a productive reading month to start off their year. With a new year means a new Goodreads reading goal, and this year I have decided to set my reading goal for 35 books, Last year I started with a goal of 25 but by the middle of the year I had reached that goal so I changed my goal to 50 books. Well by the end of the year I managed to read a total of 51. I was pushing it so I have decided to start off with more books and if I read more, I read more, no pressure.

To start off the year I managed to read a total of 4 books. I am also keeping to my goal of writing a review for everything I read this year, so if there is a book without a link to a review, don’t worry, it will be coming.

The books I read this month are…

Finding Wonders: Three Girls Who Changed Science by Jeannine Atkins- 3.5/5 Stars

A novel in verse about three girls in three different time periods who grew up to become ground breaking scientists. I really enjoyed learning about these three amazing girls, the fact that the whole book is written in verse was a refreshing experience while reading.

If you would like read more about this book, you can read my review here.

Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn & David Levithan- 4/5 Stars

Imagine being in your favourite bookstore and finding a notebook in amongst your favourite author’s books. This notebook is filled with challenges leading you to the perfect person. Well this is exactly what Lily does, but Is Dash the perfect person for her?

I really enjoyed this book. You can read my spoiler filled review here.

The Faceless Ones (Skulduggery Pleasant #3) by Derek Landy- 5/5 Stars (re-read)

There isn’t much I can say about The Faceless Ones without giving away spoilers as it is the third book in the series

But if you would like to you can read my review here.

The Great Glowing Coils of the Universe ( Welcome to Night Vale Episodes #2) by Joseph Fink & Jeffrey Cranor- 4/5 Stars

Ever love a movie so much that you find the script to it online? What? I’m the only person who does that? Well… damn… anyway!

The ever talented Joseph Fink and Jeffrey Cranor have released the first two volumes of podcast scripts for the popular podcast Welcome to Night Vale. As a huge fan of the podcast I needed these scripts. They are filled with amazing artwork by the talented Jessica Hayworth and introductions to each episode by cast members and the creators.

My review for this collection is still to come.

 

I am still going strong with my Skulduggery Pleasant re-read and even thought I am a book behind on my goal, I will be on track for the release of  book 10 in June, which I am so excited for that every time It’s mentioned I will talk about it non-stop. So hyped!!!

February will be a good month for reading as I am planning on marathon reading the whole The Red Queen’s War Trilogy by Mark Lawrence. If you follow me on Instagram then you know I love Mark’s books but love to marathon them, which means I have to wait for them all to come out.

I hope everyone has a productive February with their reading and anything else you are doing!

Happy reading everyone!

Jess.

Leave a Reply

