Book Tags

I Dare You Book Tag!

I have been wanting to do more tags on my blog, so when I was tagged by nicsreadsbooks on Instagram to do the #Idareyoubooktag I knew this was the perfect start!

But before we get started lets go over the rules!

The Rules are the Following:

  • You must be honest
  • You must answer all questions
  • You have to tag at least four people

What book has been on your shelves the longest?

I believe the His Dark Materials series by Phillip Pullman have been sitting on my shelf the longest. My mum bought the series for me after the movie came out in 2007. I still haven’t read them all (to be fair I wasn’t a huge reader at the time. They are also the movie cover editions so If I do end up liking them I might need to get different covers, but I will defiantly keep them.

What is your current read, your last read and the book you’ll read next?

I’m currently reading Dark Days by Derek Landy and The Great Glowing Coils of the Universe by Joseph Fink & Jeffrey Cranor.

I have just finished reading Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn & David Levithan which I enjoyed.

The book I will be reading next I’m actually not sure about. After Dark Days I will have read everything on my January TBR, so I have nothing planned. Plus I enjoy just picking at the time and seeing what I’m in the mood to read.

What book did everyone like, but you hated?

I don’t tend to use the word hate, but a book that a lot of people liked that I didn’t enjoy a whole lot was Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs. This doesn’t mean the book was bad, I did enjoy certain parts of the book but It left me questioning whether I want to continue reading the trilogy or not. (I most likely will as I have them)

What book do you keep telling yourself you’ll read, but you probably won’t?

This would have to be the Harry Potter series. *braces for people shouting at me* I know I have been told hundreds of times that I need to read Harry Potter but there are so many other books I have to read that it keeps getting pushed back. One day I might get to it, but at this moment I won’t be picking this series up for a long while.

Which book are you saving for retirement?

Judging by how long my TBR list is I think a lot of books on it will still be there for my retirement. That said I’m not saving any books in particular, but will enjoy anything left  on my TBR (that keeps growing!)

Last page: read it first or wait till the end?

Why would anyone read the last page first?! I myself wait till the end to read the last page. Again I ask why? That’s how spoilers happen.

Acknowledgement: waste of paper and ink or interesting aside?

I love acknowledgments, I find it interesting to see who the author thanks and any little inside jokes they might add to it. It really shows and insight into the author and their personality I think.

Which book character would you switch places with?

*Spoilers for A Court of Thorns and Roses & A Court of Mist and Fury in this answer.*

I would have to say Feyre from ACOTAR series. I know things get rough in her story but she is such a strong women and the fact she get to be with the amazing Rhys is just an added bonus!

Do you have a book that reminds you of something specific in your life (a person, a place, a time)?

The Time Keeper by Mitch Albom always reminds me on the first time I went on a holiday without my parents. I went to Vanuatu with a group of my friends and had such an amazing time with them.

Name a book that you acquired in an interesting way.

I don’t think I have ever acquired a book in an interesting way. That’s a tad dull isn’t it?

Have you ever given away a book for a special reason to a special person?

I have bought books for people, but never have I given someone one of my personal books for a certain reason. The last book I bought for someone was my Mum, I bought her the 20th anniversary edition of Battle Axe by Sara Douglass. My mum used to read her books all the time and have so many old copies. I really have to read them some day.

Which book has been with you to the most places?

That would have to be A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas as I took it on a cruise with me and it came to ever island in the New Caledonia area.

Any “required reading” you hated in high school that wasn’t so bad two years later?

I enjoyed a few of the book I was required to read in High School, but the ones I didn’t enjoy I haven’t even looked at again and have actually forgotten what most of them were about.

Used or brand new?

Both. I like new books but sometimes a used book can have more character, as long as the used book is in good condition I will give it a look and purchase it.

Have you ever read a Dan Brown book?

No I haven’t.  My Mum has a few on her bookshelf and has said they are good. So maybe one day I will read them.

Have you ever seen a movie you liked more than the book?

This is a hard one for me. I’m not 100% sure. I enjoy movie based on books and the books differently. I always say that the movies are just inspired by the books to help me get over being disappointed and this always seems to separate them both into their separate categories.

Have you ever read a book that’s made you hungry, cookbooks excluded?

I have never had a book make me hungry before but I have had a book make me crave a cup of tea before. They were describing this tea and it sounded so amazing that I had to stop reading and make myself a cup.

Who is the person whose book advice you’ll always take?

My best friend, she has really good taste in books and although we sometimes have different taste in books she is always good to get a few thriller, mystery and contemporary recommendations off.

I really enjoyed doing this tag, a huge thanks to nicsreadsbooks for the tag, you can go checkout her blog here.

I’m going to be tagging a few bloggers on Instagram so if you want to know who I’ve tagged, head over to my instagram and check that out!

If you would like to do this tag as well, consider yourself tagged!

Happy reading everyone!

Jess.

2 thoughts on “I Dare You Book Tag!

  1. Thanks so much for tagging!

    Duuuuude, His Dark Materials is A-MAZING. Definitely recommend you give it a go sometime soon. There’s apparently a tv adaption that’s meant to be coming out sometime soon(?). But anyway I really want to re-read them because I just love them so much.

    Also I totally relate to you on the Harry Potter front. Have only ever read the first two, but I basically consider it that I’ve never read them because a) it was so long ago, and b) I can’t remember a thing about them. I do say that I want to read them one day, but who knows when that will be. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

    Like

Leave a Reply

