Book Reviews

Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares By Rachel Cohn & David Levithan

“I was horribly bookish, to the point of coming right out and saying it, which I knew was not socially acceptable.”

When I first decided to read this book, I decided to ignore all the negative reviews around it and see what I thought about it, because I’m a strong believer of each to their own and not everyone likes the same things. I was so glad that I did decide to ignore the reviews because this book was adorable.

The story is told from the perspectives of Dash and Lily over the course of 12 days during the Christmas, New Year period.  Lily leaves a red notebook in her favourite bookshop amongst her favourite authors books, this notebook is full of challenges and is just waiting for the right guy to come pick it up. As it turns out Dash find the red notebook in with his favourite author’s books and takes on the challenges from this mysterious Lily. This starts a romance that sends these two on adventures they never saw themselves doing and learning about themselves in the process.

Rachel Cohn and David Levithan both write fantastically, the writing is engaging and full of humour that had me chuckling to myself multiple times. All the characters a so unique that it’s like they pull them from their own lives and just added them to the pages. As the chapters jump from Dash to Lily, I often had to check the dates to check when they were experiencing certain things, which I didn’t mind at all. I actually really liked it.

Dash I liked but at times I found somewhat pertinacious and even at one point I just didn’t like him. The scene where he is at Macy’s and comments to an old women about her choice in mittens was really rude, although I did enjoy her telling him to “F*ck off” that was perfect payback. Apart from that and few moments of pretentiousness, Dash was an enjoyable character that grew on me as I read. By the end of the book I was just praying he wouldn’t do anything stupid to wreck his chances with Lily.

Speaking of Lily, let’s just talk about this little powerhouse. I loved Lily, she was cute, sweet, cleaver and her personality was just perfection. The way she thought was outside the box and even though at times I was like “Lily what are you doing?!” I had total faith she would make the right choices. The way she loves her family and is always connected to them, was very much like myself and I connected to her in that respect as well as the fact we are both a little different in our family’s eyes.

But of all the character to love in this book, I loved Boomer the most! I would seriously read a whole book for the events in this book from Boomer’s perspective because like he is described by Lily he is like a puppy, he would get easy distracted but you know he would tell you exactly how he feels. I loved Boomer so much! Rachel, David if you two could make a book about Boomer I would love you both forever!

Boomer is also my spirit animal in regards to love advice after he dropped this…

What if love isn’t a yes-or-no question? It’s not either you’re in love or you’re not. I mean, aren’t there different levels? And maybe these things like words and expectations and whatever, don’t go on top of the love. Maybe it’s like a map, and they all have their own place, and then when you see it from the sky- whoa.”

I am looking forward to reading the newly released The Twelve Days of Dash and Lily, which was released in October 2016. After reading the synopsis for it I’m looking forward to seeing how everything will continue and to read about all the characters again. I might even look into more of Rachel & David’s books as I enjoyed this one so much.

Rating: 4 Stars- Really good, I would recommend reading it.

Happy reading everyone!

Jess.

One thought on “Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares By Rachel Cohn & David Levithan

Leave a Reply

