Favourite Reads

Favourite Books of 2016

Well 2016 is coming to a close, and what a reading year it has been. I have managed to reach my reading goal of 50 books and am so excited for 2017 and the books coming out then.

This list will consist of books I have read this year, so not all of the books on this list have been released this year but I have read them this year. All the books on this list are automatically going on my favourite books of all time. So let’s get started!

The first book is The Novice by Taran Matharu

If I could, I would put the whole Summoner series into my favourites for this year, but with the final book coming out next year, I will hold off adding them all in case something happens and I don’t like the last book. But I highly doubt I won’t love it! I’m so excited for The Battlemage!

You can read my review on this amazing fantasy book here.

Next on my list is Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

This was the first Rainbow Rowell book I had ever read and after finishing it I was disappointed in myself for never reading her work. I loved Eleanor & Park it was such an amazing read and one of my all time favourite books and will forever recommend it to my friends.

Unfortunately I dont have a review for Eleanor & Park as I wasn’t writing reviews when I read it.

The next books on my list are Illuminae & Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff.

I finished reading Illuminae at the beginning of the year when I hadn’t started writing reviews yet, so unfortunately I don’t have a review for it. But even then Illuminae was amazing. I loved the characters and the way the story was told.

Gemina is the same I don’t want to say too much as I don’t want to spoil it for anyone, but like the first book Illuminae it was an amazing read and the characters and story are amazing. I am so excited for the last book of the trilogy to come out in 2017.

You can read my review for Gemina here – Warning that there are spoilers in this review.

Next on my list is Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton.

Even though this is the first book in the series and I shouldn’t put all my hopes in the first book, I’m going to!

I loved Rebel of the Sands. The story was well written, the characters were all so different and well written. As this is Alwyn’s first book I am so looking forwards for the other books in this series as well as any other books she writes after.

You can read my review for Rebel of the Sands here– I will warn you now, there is a lot of fangirling in it 😉

Next is a that I want to add to the list because of the instant impression it has on me and no matter where the series goes, this book will always been a faviourite.

That book is Who’s Afraid by Maria Lewis.

Like I said, it was such a great fantasy book with an amazing female protagonist that I was dying to have as a friend. when I started Who’s Afraid I could not stop reading, I am so excited to read the next book in the series Who’s Afraid Too that comes out in January!

You can read my review of Who’s Afraid here.

Last but defiantly not least is A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas.

After finishing ACOMAF I knew this would be one of my favourite reads of the year. It was just so great, the characters, the story and pretty much everything was just so amazing! After I read A Court of Thorns and Roses I wasn’t sure what to expect from the second book.  I was so glad I picked it up and am looking forward to next year for the A Court of Wings and Ruin.

You can read my review for ACOMAF here– Just a warning this review has spoilers from both ACOTAR & ACOMAF. It is also pretty much just me fangirling everywhere.

So those were my top reads of 2016, I had a great year of reading, filled with a lot of amazing books. I am looking forward to 2017 and some of the books that will be released including the last book in the Throne of Glass series and the 10th book in the Skulduggery Pleasant series. If you have read any of my posts you will know I am dying to get my hands on both these books.

What were your favourite books of 2016? I would love to know.

Have a safe new year’s everyone and happy reading!

Jessica.

Leave a Reply

