Unboxing

December YA Chronicles Unboxing

When a theme for a box is called Simply Wonderful, what are you to expect? I had no idea what would be in the December YA Chronicles box, but I was excited to get it and see what the team had included.

When I opened the box I was welcomed by the most beautiful purple paper! Purple is my favourite colour and I loved it!

20161219_130909

After I opened the paper I saw a stack of goodies that all looked so amazing I squealed and began to clap like a seal… it wasn’t my proudest moment. The first Item in the box was a roll of beautiful washi tape, as this is my first year of doing a planner I was so excited to get this washi tape. There were three different tapes available and I loved the one I got.

20161219_1309480

The next item in the box is an Alice in Wonderland button magnet from Down the Reading Hole on Redbubble, I love Alice in wonderland and this button magnet is so beautiful with an amazing design. It is displayed proudly on my families fridge.

20161219_131021

The next item is a beautiful Golden Snitch bracelet. This bracelet is so shiny and a really cute addition to the box. Now I haven’t read Harry Potter, so me holding onto the bracelet just wouldn’t be right, so I have handed it onto one of my close friends who is a major Harry Potter fan and will be wearing it for her HP themed Birthday is January.

20161219_131032

The next item is sticky tabs from Blossom books, these are beautiful and I love them to death! Each tab is a different colour, with a different note on each such as Fangirl Moment, The Feels! and OMG.

I don’t do it as much as I’d like to but I am a huge fan of tabbing book, having those tabs there to just flick through and see what had you so excited or intrigued that you needed to take note by tabbing it. I loved this item.

20161219_131041

Next we have the customary YA Chronicles bookmark with the volume and theme written on it and the Card saying what’s in the box. Now this month’s colour was a black base with a light blue splatter, I really liked this colour choice as it looks like a starry sky.

20161219_131124

The item I took out was a letter from Alison & Rebecca from The YA Chronicles, this letter was so nice to read and was a really sweet touch to this box. It made me so excited to read the book included and made it even more obvious how much thought goes into each month’s box. I loved the letter and have it stuck on the back of my door with other bookish things.

20161219_131321

Okay, last but not least we have the book, this month the team included (as it said in the letter) Finding Wonders: Three Girls Who Changed Science by Jeannine Atkins.

This book cover is beautiful and after reading the letter from Alison and Rebecca, I am so excited to sit down and read this book. The book is set out in verse which is different from other books I have read, but either way I am excited to curl up with a coffee or tea and learn about the past.20161219_131715

Synopsis- Goodreads

A novel in verse about three girls in three different time periods who grew up to become groundbreaking scientists.

Maria Merian was sure that caterpillars were not wicked things born from mud, as most people of her time believed. Through careful observation she discovered the truth about metamorphosis and documented her findings in gorgeous paintings of the life cycles of insects.

More than a century later, Mary Anning helped her father collect stone sea creatures from the cliffs in southwest England. To him they were merely a source of income, but to Mary they held a stronger fascination. Intrepid and patient, she eventually discovered fossils that would change people’s vision of the past.

Across the ocean, Maria Mitchell helped her mapmaker father in the whaling village of Nantucket. At night they explored the starry sky through his telescope. Maria longed to discover a new comet—and after years of studying the night sky, she finally did.

As you might have guessed my favourite item in the Simply Wonderful  box was the Blossom book tabs, they were such a nice addition to the box and I would even consider going online and buying more!

I loved the December box and am so ecstatic for the first box on 2017 with the theme Did Someone Say Fantasy? As a fantasy book lover I am so excited to see what items and book will be included in the box.

If you would like to check The YA Chronicles out for yourself, you can find their website here or to check out some of their amazing photos, as well as sneak peeks to their next box you can see that on their Instagram here.

I hope you all enjoyed this month’s unboxing, and will go check out some of these stores for some amazing products. I’ll see you all again in January for the Did Someone Say Fantasy? unboxing.

Happy reading everyone!

Jessica.

Leave a Reply

