Book Reviews

American Monsters By Derek Landy

Warning!! – This review may contain spoilers for Demon Road Trilogy by Derek Landy. If you have not read the whole trilogy please do not read on.

Book Synopsis- Goodreads

Bigger, meaner, stronger.

Amber closes in on her murderous parents as they make one last desperate play for power. Her own last hopes of salvation, however, rest beyond vengeance, beyond the abominable killers – living and dead – that she and Milo will have to face.

For Amber’s future lies in her family’s past, in the brother and sister she never knew, and the horrors beyond imagining that befell them

Review

I was ready to finish this trilogy and when the final book was released only 4 months after the second book, I was planning on reading it right away. Then life got in the way and after the second book being a bit average I was hesitant to start reading the final book and finish the trilogy.

I am so happy that I did though, American Monsters was a great read and a perfect way to complete the trilogy. The story improved, moved along perfectly after Desolation and was wrapped up perfectly. I will say that there were a few things that weren’t resolved but these unresolved issues were mentioned and to me that is good enough, it also leaved the story open for a few short novellas to wrap up certain story lines (though I don’t think Derek will be doing that, but we can hope).

So let’s talk about the story, it starts with Amber being the shining demons representative and going on jobs for him, while at the same time hunting down her parents. As the story progresses Amber and Milo encounter old enemies as well as a few new ones. After Amber goes into hell and retrieves Glen’s soul, putting it back into his body, he becomes his normal, annoying, lovable self but he is still a vampire, but he is no longer moody and angsty so I love him.

Amber and Milo are my BROTP! Their chemistry is perfect and every time they have a scene together it is just the best thing every. They are funny together and are always so sarcastic with each other but even through the sarcasm there is a caring element where you can tell they are both so protective over each other.  There is a line in chapter 24, page 173 from Milo where he says “Whatever happens I’m with you” and that just sums up everything that is their relationship! I love them!!

American Monsters has a lot of twists and turns, and while reading I found myself wondering what was going to happen next and how it would all end. I was happy with the ending but there was a moment where Derek ripped my heart out of my chest and threw it at my face, if you have read the book then 1. WHY ARE YOU READING THIS? STOP! & 2. you know exactly what I’m talking about. Chapter 52 or as I like to call it the chapter where Derek pretty much says “screw you!” to his readers.

Derek took my favourite character, Milo, and just killed him, it was so sudden that I hadn’t expected it and was so shocked that I started to cry. I had a feeling that something was going to happen after Amber managed to get Milo out of his contract and made him human again, but the optimist In me thought that Derek wouldn’t do this to us. Well I was so wrong.

The Demon Road Trilogy was a series of books I was really looking forward to as I am a huge fan of Derek’s work. Out of the whole trilogy I will say that American Monsters is my favourite, Demon Road was a strong start, which I enjoyed but continuing on, Desolation was a good but it wasn’t perfect and I did struggle to fully get into it all (you can read my full review for Desolation here).

I gave this book 5 stars- Amazing! I loved it!

All in all this is a trilogy I would recommend to anyone who likes action, with supernatural themes and a good twist of comedy that Derek is known for. I am always someone who will suggest a Derek Landy book and even thought the trilogy wasn’t strong all the way through, I will still recommend it to anyone!

Now if you will excuse me I need to sob over the fact that Skulduggery Pleasant is coming back next year and think about just how Derek will kill all his fans emotions this time!

Happy reading everyone!

Jessica.

Leave a Reply

