Book Reviews

FNAF: The Silver Eyes By Scott Cawthon & Kira Breed-Wrisley

 Synopsis- Goodreads

It’s been exactly ten years since the murders at Freddy Fazbear’s Pizza, and Charlotte (Charlie for short) has spent those ten years trying to forget. Her father was the owner of Freddy Fazbear’s Pizza and the creator of its four adult-sized animatronic animals, and now Charlie is returning to her hometown to reunite with her childhood friends on the anniversary of the tragedy that ripped their town apart.

Curiosity leads Charlie and her friends back to the old pizza place, and they find it hidden and sealed, but still standing. They discover a way inside, but things are not as they once were: the four mascots that delighted and entertained them as children have changed. The animatronic animals have a dark secret, and a murderous agenda.

Review

As a fan of the Five Nights at Freddy’s games I was shocked when I heard that there was a book, of course I got my iPad and bought it right away.  I found out that it existed when my brother came into my room and asked if I had read the Five Nights at Freddy’s book yet, I just started at him and the proceeded to lose it because I am a little obsessed with it.

Now when I decided to read this I wasn’t sure what to expect, I know a fair but about the FNAF story from playing the games and also the online community, including some fan theories. So when the creator of the games Scott Cawthon releases a book, you know that it will be full of information that will add to the story that was unfolded over 6 games (yes this is including FNAF World).

But we are here to talk about the book, not the games (although I will be sometimes referring to certain things from the games.)

As you might have read in the synopsis above the story follows Charlie the daughter of Henry, the owner of Freddy Fazbear’s Pizza and the creator of the animatronics, after a tragedy tore the town apart 10 years ago she returns to her home town of Hurricane and faces her dark past.

This story was full of suspense and a good amount of horror that at certain parts I had to stop reading because I was too creeped out. Scott does an amazing job at horror as you can see in his games and he has done a great job with Kira to transfer that horror into the book.

The characters are well written and every character is there for a reason, I had some issues with the main character Charlie (or Charlotte) as I found her rather selfish but after a bit of thought and as the story progressed I realised that all these characters are teenagers, even thought her thought process at times is purely selfish it is how a teenager in that situation would act and think. But even then Charlie was a good character and fitted well with the whole cast of characters, who I loved and added to the story.

I rated this book a 3.5, my reason for this rating is because although I enjoyed this book a lot, it wasn’t the best thing I have read. It took a bit of time to get from scene to scene and it took a bit for me to get into.

That said I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a bit of horror and although it is based on a game I think that anyone could pick it up and enjoy it with no prior knowledge of the games at all, everything is explained to you. I would also (and have already) recommend this to fans of the games as I think it gives extra information and adds to the FNAF experience and story.

After I finished reading this I had the biggest urge to play the FNAF games, so I went back and played a few nights and got the heck scared out of me, I forgot how badly I jump during jump scares.

Are you a fan of the FNAF games and have read the book? What are your thoughts? I would love to hear them.

Happy reading everyone!

Jessica.

Leave a Reply

