Book Reviews

Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children By Ransom Riggs

Synopsis- Goodreads

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

Review

I have wanted to read this book for a while, I have attempted to read it before but was in a really bad reading slump and just couldn’t get into it, not matter how hard I tried. So the second time I picked it up I made sure that I was ready and as the movie was out I thought this was the perfect time to read it.

Once I started reading I was intrigued with the story, I had read a little about the book in advance, so I had an idea of what to expect but even then I wasn’t prepared for the depth of this story and the journey I was about to go on, after a few chapters where we got into the landscape and met a few of the characters it drew me into the story fully.

Ransom’s writing style is creative and the way he describes the characters, location and even the way the progresses the story was so well done that imagining everything the story was so easy.

The characters were all so different, peculiar (HA! I’m so funny) and well written that it was so easy to get attached to them. I loved Jacob’s personality and found him so amusing to have as a protagonist, not only that but the one liners that Jacob says during this book had me laughing so hard, the sass is strong in this one. There were a lot of characters to remember while reading and I did sometimes find myself thinking “wait who was this person again?”, but after getting fully into the story and also with the assistance of some awesome photography, I found it easy to remember them all.

Speaking of awesome photography let’s talk about the pictures in this book, I loved them!!! The photos were all well done and each one added to the story, It’s one thing to explain a photograph in words, but you get so much more by actually looking at the pictures, you get to see the characters and the way they hold themselves, like they say a picture is worth a thousand words.

I enjoyed this book and although I did find myself board while reading certain parts, I will be continuing with this trilogy because this story is just too interesting to leave at just one book, I need to know where this is going and how it will all end.

I gave this book 3.5 stars- I enjoyed this book and will be recommending this book to my friends.

I would recommend this book to anyone who likes fantasy with a twist of time travel and are looking for a book full of adventure.

I am actually aiming to finish this series before the end of the ear and with only a few months of this year to go I had better get started and add them to the top of my TBR pile.

Happy reading everyone!

Jessica.

Leave a Reply

