Book Reviews

Black By Fleur Ferris

Book Synopsis

Ebony Marshall is in her final year of high school. Five months, two weeks and four days …She can’t wait to leave the town where she’s known only as ‘Black’. Because of her name, of course. But for another reason, too. Everyone says Black Marshall is cursed. Three of her best friends have died in tragic accidents. After Oscar, the whispers started. Now she’s used to being on her own. It’s easier that way. But when her date for the formal ends up in intensive care, something in quiet little Dainsfield starts to stir. Old secrets are revealed and terrifying new dangers emerge. If only Black could put all the pieces together, she could work out who her real enemies are. Should she run for her life, or stay and fight?

Review

I saw this book in my local book store, I was just walking through when the name and cover caught my eye, then I read the synopsis and I was very interested, Β I had wanted to read more Horror/thriller books and I thought this would be a great start.

I started reading comfortably but as I got further into the story the more I scooted to the edge of my seat and by the end of the book I was pacing my room needing to know what would happen next. Fleur’s pacing in the story was great and the way she wrote suspense was just perfect, I was trying to take my time reading Black but once I started I had to force myself to stop, and even then I failed in doing this.

The setting of this story was very well thought out and fitted the story to a tee, a small town with a close community fitted the mystery of the story as well as gave room for the spacing and seclusion for certain parts. Setting can sometimes be a difficult thing to get in the story but Fleur did an amazing job of making everything seem right and seem like this was a town you could just drive through and not know anything was happening.

The characters were all well written and as someone who lives in a small country town there were certain aspects of their personalities and thoughts I could relate to. Ebony (Black) was a great protagonist and she was show as she was, a scared teenage girl who didn’t quite understand what was happening in her life, often in books authors have teenagers as characters but the character acts as if they are adults, but with Ebony she had traits of an adult but she acted as she was, a teenager (which I loved).

I gave this book 4 stars- Really good, I would recommend it.

Black was an easy yet suspenseful read and I would recommend this book to anyone who likes mystery, thrills and a story that will keep you up at night guessing what will happen next. This was the first book by Fleur Ferris I have read and I have already bought her first book Risk, which is sitting on top of my TBR pile, along with that I will definitely be keeping my eyes out for anything else she releases. I really enjoy Fleur’s writing style and I look forward to more of her amazing works in the future.

Happy reading everyone!

Jessica.

Leave a Reply

