Book Reviews

Fangirl By Rainbow Rowell

Book Synopsis

Cath and Wren are identical twins, and until recently they did absolutely everything together. Now they’re off to university and Wren’s decided she doesn’t want to be one half of a pair any more – she wants to dance, meet boys, go to parties and let loose. It’s not so easy for Cath. She’s horribly shy and has always buried herself in the fan fiction she writes, where she always knows exactly what to say and can write a romance far more intense than anything she’s experienced in real life. Without Wren Cath is completely on her own and totally outside her comfort zone. She’s got a surly room-mate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words …And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone. Now Cath has to decide whether she’s ready to open her heart to new people and new experiences, and she’s realizing that there’s more to learn about love than she ever thought possible.

Review

I have had Fangirl sitting on my shelf for years, and for years I have been saying “I’ll get to you soon, I promise” well finally I can hold my head high and say “Why yes kind sir, I have read that book, and it was magnificent”.  I had been waiting for the right time to read it and yes I know that sounds like an excuse (which it is) but I really wanted to be in the right mood to read it.

Like the other Rainbow Rowell books I have read the story was great and really easy to get into, I loved the characters and it was so cute that sometimes I needed to stop reading just to shake the book because I could not handle the cuteness.

I was so in love with the story and characters that once I finished reading it, I wanted to go right back to the beginning and read it all over again, I just wasn’t ready to leave the story or these characters. I just loved it so much!! Cath was so relatable, I was really draw to her and took everything that happened to her way too seriously (I was like “Get away from her! She is too precious and you are being mean to her!”). Levi was just so cute I couldn’t function, he was always so fully of this happy energy and while reading I always found myself smiling at something he said or did (again he is just too cute!!).  Some of the characters did annoy me, but some managed to get my love back near the end of the book, so I will kind of forgive them, but some of them can go and jump in a volcano.

Rainbow has stolen my heart ever since I read one of her books, her writing style is funny, full of emotions and just so amazing that every time I look at her books on my shelf I just smile and get so temped to re read them.

I gave this book 5 stars- Amazing! I loved it!!

I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a story with humor, drama and a hint of romance that is always so perfect in Rainbow’s books. I have actually made my best friend addicted to Rainbow Rowell’s books and every time I finish reading one my friend will message me and ask when she can borrow it.

Now comes the difficult choice of which Rainbow Rowell book I will read next! I would love to hear your suggestions.

What is your favourite Rainbow Rowell book?

Happy reading everyone!

Jessica.

Leave a Reply

