Book Reviews

Empire of Storms By Sarah J. Maas (Spoilers)

Warning!!- This review contains spoilers for the Throne of Glass series. If you are not up to date with the series please do not read on!

 

Let me just start by saying that the Throne of Glass series is one of my favorite series and Sarah J. Maas is a Goddess of the written word because OH MY GOSH did this book lived up to every expectation I had for the second last book in the series.

Before I start ranting about how amazing this book is let’s do a little recap of Queen of Shadows (if you have just finished reading it or re-reading it like me and can remember everything then just skip the bold section and head straight into the Empire or storms fun!)

When we last left Aelin and her court in Queen of Shadows, they had just made it to Terrasen where they were heading to the capital so Aelin could take her place as queen and start planning the war again the Valg King (Erawan).

Manon had just dropped Elide off in the Oakwald Forest, telling her to head to Terrasen and to find Aelin Galathynius before returning to the keep, pretending there were away when Kaltain destroyed a section of Morath killing Elide in the process.

Dorian has been left alone in the stone castle in Rifthold to rule while Chaol and Nesryn have travelled to the southern continent so Chaol can be healed by the healers.

Lorcan has stolen back the gold ring (Athril’s ring) and fled from Rifthold after the glass castle was destroyed, believing he holds one of the three Wyrdkeys.

So finally, let’s talk about Empire of Storms, or as I like to call it Sarah J. Maas’s big book of ships because whoa there were so many ships sailing and I was on board with them all, some I knew were coming, like Aelin and Rowan (well duh!), Lysandra and Aedion & Dorian and Manon (which can I say I LOVED there chemistry!), but then there was Lorcan and Elide, I had no idea this was going to be a thing, but all I can say to this is that I didn’t know I needed this ship until it hit me in the face, I loved there chemistry and having them argue with each other and also the fact that Elide doesn’t put up with Lorcan’s crap.

I SHIP THEM SO HARD!

When I finished Queen of Shadows I wasn’t sure how the story was going to progress, I mean I had a feeling we would be seeing characters from the previous books like Ansel, and Rolfe but I wasn’t sure how it would all play out, I was not disappointed. It was a perfect continuation with action and mystery as to where the series will head and now I need the last book because I need to know what will happen!

Once I picked up this book I could not stop reading, I needed to know what was going to happen, I will be honest I had to force myself to stop reading just so I wouldn’t read it too fast and it be over too quickly. But alas I was finished in 2 days and I was still heartbroken it was over… so I started reading it again! I have no self control when it comes to Sarah’s books!

The ending of EOS hurt me emotionally, not only did we have to deal with all the secrets from Elena coming out but then we get Aelin taken away from us by Maeve.  We have Lysandra pretending to be Aelin to keep all her armies joined and heading for Terrasen to start preparing for war, with Aedion following to help command the armies and the Bain, Dorian has goes with Manon and her Thirteen to go find the Crochans and raise them for the army and We have Rowan, Lorcan, Gavriel and Elide going to find Maeve and save Aelin.

The main thing I’m thinking about is whose stories are we going to follow in the last book? I know we can’t keep track of everyone but damn there is so much happening, I’m also wondering how big the next book is going to be if this one was 704 pages, not that I would ever complain about more Throne of Glass, Never!

I gave this book 5 star- Amazing! I loved it!

I cannot wait until 2017 for the next and last book in this series, I am excited but also scared to death about how this will all end, who will be left standing and which of my ships will stay afloat or sink to the bottom of the Narrow Sea along with my soul, but I might be a bit of a sadist because I’m sure I will love every single second of it!

What where your thoughts on the ending and the whole book? I would love to talk about people’s thoughts and theories.

Now if you excuse me I’m going to wait patiently for people to get onto the Elide and Lorcan ship and get me some awesome fanart! (And by patiently I mean staring at the screen demanding it!) 😉

Happy reading everyone!

Jessica.

Leave a Reply

