Book Reviews

The Call By Peadar O’Guilin ARC Review

img_3082

Book Synopsis

Thousands of years ago, humans banished the Sidhe fairy race to another dimension. The beautiful, terrible Sidhe have stewed in a land of horrors ever since, plotting their revenge… and now their day has come. Fourteen year-old Nessa lives in a world where every teen will be “Called.” It could come in the middle of the day, it could come deep in the night. But one instant she will be here, and the next she will wake up naked and alone in the hellish Sidhe land. She will be spotted, hunted down, and sent back in pieces by the Sidhe to the human world… unless she joins the rare few who survive for 24 hours and escape unscathed. Nessa trains with her friends at an academy designed to help her live. Her legs don’t work properly and no one thinks she will survive The Call, but she’s going to prove everyone wrong. As the days tick by and Nessa’s classmates go one by one, that time grows ever closer… but with it too comes the threat of an even greater danger closer to home.


Β ARC Review

I received this book as an ARC from my local book store who asked me to check it out and see what I thought of it. Well let me just say that once I heard it was a Fantasy and Horror mix I was excited, I will also add that as soon as I finished this ARC I went online and pre-ordered a full edition of the book, so that shows how much I enjoyed it.

I found Peadar’s writing style very easy to read and he really kept the story flowing, which meant I devoured this book and enjoyed every minute of it. The characters were also very well written and were all so different, it really added to the story having all these different emotions and personalities clashing throughout.

Because The Call has horror elements in the story there are many times where there are some graphic images and I would advise this book is not for younger readers, but if you don’t mind a little graphic horror then I would suggest giving this book a look, the mix of fantasy and even some local Irish folk stories gives it a real uniqueness and makes it so different from other dystopian books I have read in the past.

I would recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a bit of horror with hints of fantasy and a story to keep your heart racing and questioning how it will end.

The release date for The Call is the 30th August 2016

I highly recommend checking this book out, I enjoyed it and will defiantly be reading it again once it comes out, I might even check out some other of Peadar’s books while I’m at it.

 

Happy reading everyone!

Jessica.

Leave a Reply

