Book Reviews

Rebel of the Sands By Alwyn Hamilton

I’m a reader who doesn’t like to know too much about a book before I read it, and that was the same with Rebel of the Sands, I had no idea what this book was going to be about, all I knew was that it had a female lead, was set in a desert environment and it was amazing.

Rebel of the Sands follows the story of Amani who wants to escape the town she grew up in and see the world she’s heard about in campfire stories. Then a foreigner with no name turns up, and with him she has the chance to run. But the desert plains are full of dangerous magic. The Sultan’s army is on the rise and Amani is soon caught at the heart of a fearless rebellion.

Once I read the first chapter I was hooked, Amani is sassy, smart and full of an adventurous spirit that made reading this story so easy, In fact all the characters are so well written that I was sucked into the story and was engulfed by the world. Each character has their own personality and by the end of the book I was so attached to some of the characters that I started fearing that something would go wrong and I would lose one of them (which I would not be okay with!).

Alwyn has such a great writing style and the way she explains landscapes and towns were so stunning that I sometimes found myself re-reading the sentence and closing the book just so I could fully picture the landscapes she explains, and imagine every little detail before continuing on with the story.

When it comes to fantasy/ adventure books I have not read any that take place in a desert, so having this in the story was such a new thing to me I didn’t know what to expect,  but once I started reading I just fell into the story and everything fit into place and I loved it!

I gave this book 5 stars- Amazing! I loved it!!

I would recommend this book to anyone who loves fantasy, romance and a lot of action, with writing that will keep you reading and saying “just one more chapter”.  This is Alwyn Hamilton’s first book and I am forced to wait until next year for the second book the Rebel of the Sands series, Traitor to the Throne.

I’m so excited and I can’t wait to see where this series will go.

Happy reading everyone!

Jessica.

2 thoughts on “Rebel of the Sands By Alwyn Hamilton

  1. Wow!! Amazing to know I am not the only one there – I also take too much time before finalizing over a book. I never agree with the author and this bad habit prevents me from reading fiction much. I enjoyed your review by the way. Simple and detailed one!

    Like

Leave a Reply

