Monthly Wrap Up

May Wrap Up!

Even after going on holiday overseas for a week, I managed to read 4 books this month. I have also learned how to kick a reading slump when I feel it coming on which will be really good as I continue on my reading year.

So the first book I read this month was The Forest of Silence (Deltora Quest #1) By Emily Rodda – 4 Stars

This series was one I have been wanting to read for a while, when I was in primary school my teacher would read them to us, but since then I have forgotten the story and have wanted to read them for myself.

If you don’t know what this series is about let me give you a little run down, The evil Shadow Lord is plotting to invade Deltora and enslave its people. All that stands against him is the magic Belt of Deltora with its seven gems of great and mysterious power. When the gems are stolen and hidden in dark terrible places throughout the kingdom, the Shadow Lord triumphs, and Deltora is lost.

In secrecy, with only a hand-drawn map to guide them, two unlikely companions set out on a perilous quest. Determined to find the lost gems and rid their land of the tyrant.

The Forest of Silence was the perfect start to a fantasy series, it started off with all the back story you needed and then jumped right into the action with finding the first gem from the belt, the characters are written amazingly and I loved how Emily Rodda explains everything and gives you enough information to form a character, place or monster in your mind (I will say this series is written for younger readers, so it is an easy read for an older reader).

After reading this first book, it became rather clear to me why I love fantasy books, as I grew up being read books like this.

I would recommend this book to anyone after an easy fantasy read that will not require too much getting into.

The second book I read this month was A Court of Mist and Fury By Sarah J. Maas – 5 Stars

THIS BOOK!! … It was amazing.

I brought this book with me overseas continuing my little tradition of reading the A Court of Thorns and Roses series while on holidays in another country. Last year I read the first book while over on a cruise to New Caledonia and this year I took it with me all the way to Hong Kong.

I have actually written a full review on this book which you can find here.

If you don’t want to read my review (which is totally cool) then all I can say is, this is my favourite book of the year (at the moment) and is defiantly on of my favourite series of all time, I love the characters, the story and every little detail Sarah J. Maas puts into her work.

I loved this book and would recommend it to anyone and everyone!

The next book I read this month was Desolation (Demon Road #2) By Derek Landy- 4 Stars

I have never said this before about a Derek Landy book but I’m not sure how to feel about it, I loved the characters and the Ideas but I found myself struggling to keep reading whenever a new twist or turn came into the story, I know this is how Derek likes to write but never have I read so many in one book. At times I actually found myself saying “Oh, come on” whenever something went wrong because it was ridiculous how much bad luck these characters had, now this might just be great story telling, but I found it rather annoying.

As this book is a trilogy and Desolation is the second book, with the third coming out this year as well, I will be completing this trilogy just because it would be a little silly not to complete it.

I would recommend this book to anyone who like a supernatural story line mixed with humour, action and a bit of violence.

I have also written a full review of this book, which you can read here.

The last book I read this month was The Lake of Tears (Deltora Quest #2) By Emily Rodda- 4 Stars

To finish the month of May I continued on with the Deltora Quest series, the second book is The Lake of Tears.

Just like the first book once I started I was sucked in, the fantasy, characters as well as the puzzles  got me so into the book that I was a little upset once I finished it, only to remember that this is a 8 book series, so I have way more to read before this is over!

The new characters that were introduced added to the story and gave it an even more magical feel, at some points in the story I had no idea where it was heading until I got there and was very happy with the outcome.

Like I said I have 6 more books of this series to read, which I aim to finish this year, so expect to see more reviews on this series in the months to come.

Like the first book in the series I would recommend this book to anyone who is after an easy fantasy read that will not require too much getting into.

So that was my May in books, as always I hope everyone had a productive reading month and no slumps were had!

A quick question before I finish up: What books did you read this month and what was your favourite?

Have a great June and Happy reading everyone!

Jessica.

Leave a Reply

