Book Reviews

Welcome to Night Vale: A Book By Joseph Fink & Jeffrey Cranor

As soon as I heard Welcome to Night vale was releasing a book, I knew I needed to read it. I am a huge fan of the podcast and am in love with all the characters that Joseph Fink & Jeffery Cranor have created with the help of the beautiful (and sexy might I add) voice of Cecil Baldwin.

For anyone who has no idea about the podcast or the past of Welcome to Night vale, well brace yourself for a small lesson. Welcome to Night vale is a podcast which started back in June 2012 and is still going strong to this day with its twice monthly release of episodes. This Podcast is presented like a radio show reporting on the weird town of Night vale and the quirky people and weird events that unfold.

Now with that little lesson out of the way let’s start talking about the book!

Welcome to Night vale A Novel follows the lives of Jackie Fierro and Diane Crayton, two woman living very separate lives. Jackie owns a pawn shop, lives alone and has also been Nineteen for hundreds of year & Diane works in an office, is treasurer for the Schools PTA, is raising her shape shifting teenage son & is now seeing her sons father everywhere she goes. Their lives change suddenly when a man in a tan jacket appears in town and starts leaving slips of paper with everyone, with two words on them ‘King City’.

Jackie and Diane begin separate adventures into deadly libraries and scary City Halls, all searching for the same thing, the mysterious King City.

I could not put this book down, any opportunity I had to read it I would. With its weird and wonderful writing style it was so addictive and very hard to stop reading. As a huge fan of quirky reading and anything with a little hint of Science fiction in it, I was addicted to this book after the first few pages (it also helped that I knew the background of weirdness due to the Podcast).

I give this book 4 Stars – Really Good, I would recommend reading it.

I would recommend this book to anyone who likes science fiction, a good laugh and reading books that mess with your perception of what is normal, and with the announcement of another book in the works I’m even more excited to be a fan of this series and book.

Happy reading everyone!

Jessica.

Leave a Reply

